Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.


16 February, 2022

Clifton Landcare nominated for state award

Among the nominees for the 2021 Queensland Landcare Awards is Clifton Landcare Group, with the awards ceremony to be held this Saturday, 19 February.

A female Bulloak Jewel Butterfly.

Clifton Landcare Group was nominated in the community group category for its work with CSIRO entomologist Dr Don Sands who is devoting his retirement to protecting the endangered Bulloak Jewel Butterfly (Hypochrysops piceata).

In 1999, Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service, the Department of Transport and Main Roads and Clifton Shire Council declared the Leyburn Roadside woodland as a Nature Refuge to protect the Bulloak Jewel Buttefly, the second rarest butterfly in Australia, from destruction of its habitat.

Clifton Landcare is one of five groups in the Condamine Catchment that are nominees.

Allora Landcare Group was nominated in the Partnership Category, highlighting its work at Allora Mountain whilst producing the book titled ‘A Pictorial Guide to the Birds of Allora Mountain Flora and Fauna Reserve’.

Pittsworth Landcare, Oakey Urban Landcare and Millmerran C&K Kindergarten (nominated by Millmerran Landcare) were also nominated.

This year, Glengallan Homestead will be host to one of the small gatherings across the state for the 2021 Queensland State Landcare Awards.

Queensland Water and Land Carers  are hosting the ceremony online via Zoom webinar.

Due to the pandemic, it was decided that this is the safest way for communities to come together and celebrate the phenomenal achievements of the nominees.

Craig Magnussen. Director for the Murray Darling QWaLC Region will be the MC of this event.

The Landcare Awards are held bi-annually and the state winners will continue to the National Landcare Awards the following year. 

These awards recognise not only the great work these groups accomplish but the volunteer hours, funds and knowledge that are given to improve our Condamine Catchment.

Register to attend the online awards event here.

Most Popular