Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.


1 February, 2024

Millmerran’s Folker takes out Central Downs bowling award

Central Downs Cricket’s Player of the Year award went to Captain Corey Dioth of Kulpi, while Millmerran took out trophies for most wickets and best fielder.

Millmerran’s Lachlan Folker was Best Bowler.

Kulpi/Goombungee Cricket Club captured all perpetual shields in Central Downs T20 Cricket competition. 

Captain Corey Dioth led his young team by example scoring 101 (not out) to win Player of the Final, and scored the most runs in CDCA with 425. 

Dioth scored his first
ever century earlier in the season against Bowenville, and took the most wicket keeping dismissals with 10. 

These personal performances, together with his ability as captain, earned him the honour of CDCA Player of the Year for 2023-24.

A number of other Kulpi players featured amongst the trophy winners for the season.

Although Braith Gamberini is under 18 he took home the Batting Average Trophy with an average of 124 , and Marcus Frizzell won the highest score trophy with 105 not out against Millmerran.

Most wickets trophy
was won by Millmerran young gun Lachlan Folker who took 11 wickets in fixtures and had the best bowling performance taking four wickets  for 18 runs off four overs against Bowenville.

Brendan Scifleet from Bowenville had the best bowling average with 10.2 runs per wicket.

The Best Fielder Award went to Daniel Farrington from Millmerran, and two players tied for Most Fielding Catches with 4 each. 

Trophy winners were Jayden Lee from Bowenville and Will Hanlon from Pittsworth.

Top Under 18 players were rewarded for their outstanding performances. 

Kye Martin (Kulpi) scored most runs with 231, and Lachlan Folker (Millmerran) won Under 18 bowling honours capturing 11 wickets.

He was closely followed by Jake Spies (Kulpi) with 9 wickets.

Kye Martin was named CDCA Under 18 Player of the Year for his 231 runs and 2 wickets.

Club trophies and shields were presented after the Grand Final.

This season there was only 20–20 cricket played. 

Lindsay Fiechtner presented the Fiechtner Family Shield to the Grand Final winners, Kulpi/Goombungee Cricket Club, and Graham Bell presented the Bell Family Shield  to the runners up, Millmerran Cricket Club.

Owen Hoopert presented The Sandy Hoopert Memorial Trophy to Kulpi as winners of the first round, while Patron Ray Chicken presented The Chicken Madsen Shield to Kulpi for winning the second round of competition.

Kulpi finished the season undefeated adding the Minor Premiership trophy to their haul as well.

- Lindsay Evans

Most Popular