Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.


8 May, 2021

Pittsworth Pelicans Cricket Club Awards Night

Highlight of the Pittsworth Pelicans’ end of season awards function on Friday evening was the conferring of life membership on Ray Madsen.

Lyn Bass and Ray Chicken present Ray Madsen with his Pittsworth Cricket Club life membership badge.

It is only the fourth time such an honour has been awarded to a local cricketer and the first since the Pittsworth Cricket Club reformed as the Pittsworth Pelicans in 2013 after a hiatus of more than 15 years.

The first three life members were Geoff Bass, represented at the dinner by his widow Lyn, Robert Thompson, and Murray Leifels who was present with his wife Robyn.

MC Andrew Ott outlined Ray Madsen’s 40 years of involvement with cricket on the Downs as a player, umpire, administrator, statistician, selector, mentor and sponsor.

His responsibilities included Pittsworth Cricket Club captain, four times Central Downs Cricket Association president, and CDCA registrar from 1994 to 2005.

“Ray Madsen is a true sportsman, a great clubman, and a dedicated family man who has loved sport all his life,” Mr Ott said.

“His commitment, foresight and drive has allowed cricket in this district to survive and be competitive in the Central Downs competition.”

Former team mates and opponents Lindsay Fiechtner, Lindsay Evans, Ashley Gillam, Helen Gillam and Mick Barbour each added glowing tributes, and some gentle ribbing.

In response to a standing ovation, a humbled Ray Madsen said he had been very fortunate to have played cricket with people he now called friends.

He thanked his wife Denise for the sacrifices she had made throughout his cricket career and said one highlight had been playing in the same team as his son Ben.

The dinner’s chief organiser Denis O’Shea, Andrew Ott and Jamie Frost had done a good job of inviting and involving a cross-section of players and administrators from across five decades.

The 65 people in attendance included six CDCA life members, namely, Lindsay Fiechtner, Lindsay Evans, Ashley Gillam, Ray Chicken, Brett French and Ray Madsen.

Also honouring Ray Madsen were former colleagues from Pittsworth’s 1993 premiership team, Geoff Symes, Mick Barbour, Duncan Lee and Shannon Tunui.

The Pelican Club awards for the 2020/21 season were dominated by young players Ed McGinn and Jacob Cameron.

Ed was named player’s player and best batsman (263 runs at 26.30) and collected the Most Outstanding Performance in a Match trophy for his 84 against Kulpi.

Jacob was named player of the year, best bowler (17 wickets) and most improved.

James Ellison was named best fielder and Chris Bauld the Under 20 player of the year, while captain Mark Holt took out the club spirit award.

President Jamie Frost also presented youngsters Cormac Hass and Kobi Salgado with Pelicans caps, the pair having played in the senior grade for the first time last season.

CDCA stalwart Lindsay Evans presented Kobi’s dad Lachie with the CDCA’s best fielder trophy for the 2020/21 season.

Belated CDCA awards were also announced for Zac Thompson (best fielder 2019/20) and Chris Bauld (most runs Under 18 for 2019/20).

To cap off the formalities, Ray Madsen drew out his own name for the lucky door prize.

For the 62-year-old, it was a lucky night, but richly deserved.

Most Popular