Please note javascript is required for full website functionality.


8 February, 2024

Pittsworth Pelicans presentation night

The Pittsworth Pelicans Cricket Club gathered with players and supporters at Club Pittsworth on 2nd February to celebrate the end of the season and present club awards.

Captain of the Pittsworth Pelicans, Jordan O’Shea (left) was awarded Player of the Year, and the Spirit of Pittsworth Cricket award. He is pictured above with Life Member Ray Madsen.

Cricket in the Central Downs competition this season was played in the T20 format, with the competition made up of teams from Pittsworth, Millmerran, Kulpi and Bowenville. 

Pittsworth made the semi finals of the competition but were knocked out by Millmerran, who then went on to play Kulpi in the grand final.

Pittsworth’s Best Batsman this year was Ben Cavanagh with 297 runs at an average of 42.43.

Troy Kahler was the Best Bowler with 7 wickets. 

James “Jogger” Ellison was the club’s Best Fielder once again. 

Most Improved for the club this season was Will Hanlon. 

Will also shared the honours of Under 20s Player of The Year with Sam McGinn. 

Ben Cavanagh won the perpetual trophy for Most Outstanding Performance in
a Match, with his match winning 72 not out against Bowenville. 

Jacob Cameron was voted by his fellow Pelicans as Pittsworth’s Players’ Player.

Captain Jordan O’Shea took out Player of The Year based on votes by the opposition’s captain each week. 

Jordan also took out the Spirit of Pittsworth Cricket which is awarded in honour of Pittsworth Life Member, Geoff Bass.

The Pittsworth Club would like to take the opportunity to thank our sponsors this season: Condamine Bus Service – Lyndon and Pauline McGinn, Condamine Clothing - Scott and Donna Ariell, IGA Pittsworth - Shane and Tracy Smith, Little Joggers - James and Kaylie Ellison, and Club Pittsworth. 

We’d also like to acknowledge our life members Ray Madsen, Geoff Bass, (dec’d), Robert Thompson, (dec’d) and Murray Leifels. 

Thank you to the committee this season which consisted of Jordan O’Shea, James Ellison, Andrew Ott and Denis O’Shea. 

A big thanks to all our players, without you we wouldn’t be on the field. 

Look forward to seeing you all back next season.

Most Popular